Pages Navigation Menu

how to de-stress

What Are the 5 Types of Glaucoma?

Posted by on May 5, 2015 in Uncategorized | 0 comments

Glaucoma, a vision condition that tends to be hereditary, is one of the leading causes of blindness, next to diabetes. It is a progressive disease that is caused by too much fluid pressure in the eyes, which damages the optic nerve cells. In addition to being hereditary, there are other risks for developing this disease, including age (over 40 years old), nearsightedness, hypertension, and eye injuries. Once you get to a certain age, your optometrist will likely start testing you for glaucoma. While it is not something that can be reversed, it can be treated so slow down the process and help you retain your vision. There are actually a few types of glaucoma that the optometrist will test for. Primary Open-Angle This is the most common type of glaucoma that affects many people. This type of glaucoma is...

Read More